(*•.¸(*•.¸Kristy’s #10 Pick¸.•*´)¸.•*´) Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne

2

Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne

Blurred LinesBuy Blurred Lines on Amazon

 

Synopsis

In a novel that’s perfect for fans of Abbi Glines and Jessica Sorensen, USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”?

When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they’re still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland’s trendy Northwest District as they  happily settle into adult life. But when Parker’s boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben’s no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can’t seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him.

The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker’s ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can’t go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to.

BL_Teaser01

Kristys Review (2)5 Star Review

What I should say is that the “Best Friends” to lovers trope is one of my absolute favorite, so when I find a book by one of my favorite authors that has that theme… I’m excited before I even open the book.  Needless to say, my hopes were high for this one…what I definitely need to say is Blurred Lines did not disappoint, it exceeded.  What this book did better than almost any other book I can think of is establish a truly believable friendship between the two main characters.  I completely bought that Ben and Parker had been best buddies and living together as such for 6 years and that they were nothing more than friends for that time.  That’s actually a pretty intelligent set up that allows for this and the banter and interactions between the two are portrayed to perfection.

I really loved both lead characters…the fact that they were just real people was such a refreshing change.  They had normal jobs and normal cars and friends and family and a little 2 bedroom house they shared.  I think the fact that they felt like people I might actually know added so much to the story.  (No MMA fighters, rock stars or billionaires in this book).  Ben was a very caring likable guy who had no desire to settle for just one girl, resulting in his bedroom having a revolving door of one night stands, which Parker finds amusing to say the least.  Parker is happily in a 5 year committed relationship with a somewhat workaholicic boyfriend who completely respects her friendship with Ben.  The banter and interplay between Ben and Parker is wonderful.  Sometimes they seem like an old married couple, sometimes they’re goofy, always they’re there for each other….it’s perfect…until Parker gets dumped.  Then everything changes…..

In addition to being funny, this book is emotional too.  It’s one of those books where your breath catches and you get butterflies in your stomach like it’s your first kiss instead of theirs.  It was hot and sexy and sweet.  I laughed and shrieked and cried, exactly what I want from a book.

Since I don’t do spoilers (I mean Parker getting dumped IS on the back of the book) I just want to say that for me, Lauren Layne is one of the best authors writing today and I was reminded of that as I read this book.  I could NOT put it down.  I started it at midnight and finished it before I left for work in the morning, sleep be damned…I had to know what happened.  Ok…I know this is corny…but a Lauren Layne book for me feels like home.  I can’t explain that exactly, but I thought it several times while I was reading.  I find her books comforting and comfortable, relaxing and engaging without being stressful or causing unnecessary angst.  I just feel good when I’m reading them…like I’m in my favorite pajamas under a nice warm blanket kind of good.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *